Our Fellows

The Opportunity Agenda’s Communications Institute Fellows are media-ready experts on some of the country’s most urgent challenges, coming largely from communities most affected by those challenges. For journalists seeking voices with a grassroots perspective that links economic opportunity, criminal justice, immigrant opportunity, and racial justice issues to the lived experiences of Americans, Communications Fellows are ideal spokespeople.

Miriam Aukerman
Staff Attorney, ACLU of Michigan

Emily Chatterjee
Senior Counsel, The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights and The Leadership Conference Education Fund

Nusrat Choudhury
Senior Staff Attorney, ACLU's Racial Justice Program

Brian Erickson
Border Policy Strategist, ACLU of New Mexico Regional Center for Border Rights

Melissa Franqui
Communications and Marketing Manager, Drug Policy Alliance

Jessica Glynn
Senior Director of Law and Policy, YWCA Kalamazoo

Teresa Hodge
Co-founder and Director of Strategy and Innovation, Mission: Launch, Inc.

Charon Hribar
Director of Cultural Strategies, The New Poor People's Campaign

Bassem Kawar
Advocacy Specialist, The Campaign to TAKE ON HATE

Carl Lipscombe
Deputy Director of the Black Alliance for Just Immigration

Janos Marton
Director of Policy and Campaigns at JustLeadershipUSA

Tiffany McFadden
Volunteer, Alliance of Families for Justice

Matt Nelson
Executive Director, Presente.org

Mary Small
Policy Director, Detention Watch Network

Nailah Summers
Co-founder and Communications Director, Dream Defenders

Caitlin Swain
Executive Director, Forward Justice

Naomi Tsu
Deputy Legal Director of the Immigrant Justice Project, Southern Poverty Law Center